top of page

Women T20 World Cup Winners List of Champions

women t20 world cup winners list

Since its inception in 2009, the ICC Women's T20 World Cup has ignited the passion for women's cricket globally. This fast-paced, action-packed format has witnessed some of the most thrilling matches, iconic performances, and unforgettable champions. As we look back at the twelve years of the tournament's history, here's a deep dive into the Women T20 World Cup winners list and their defining moments.

Women T20 World Cup Winners List Overview

In recent years, T20 has greatly contributed to the growth of women's cricket. Despite this progress, Australia's dominance in the Women’s T20 World Cup has remained unchallenged.

Since its inception in 2009, there have been eight editions of the women's T20 World Cup. Australia has emerged victorious six times. On the other hand, England and West Indies have also claimed the title. Additionally, the Indian women’s cricket team, New Zealand, and South Africa have been runners-up in various editions.

Women T20 World Cup Winners List

2009: England - Reigning Supreme on Home Soil

The first tournament was held in and hosted by England. The inaugural edition saw eight teams competing for the prestigious trophy. The final match, held at the legendary Lord's Cricket Ground, was a nail-biting encounter between England and New Zealand. Chasing 120 for victory, the hosts held their nerve and clinched the title by five wickets. This had etched their names in history as the first-ever Women's T20 World Cup champions.

2010: Australia Emerges as a Powerhouse

The Aussies made their mark in 2010, defeating New Zealand by a slender margin of three runs in a rain-affected final. The New Zealand team remained undefeated throughout the group stage. They secured convincing victories and went on to defeat the hosts by 56 runs in the semi-finals. In the end, Australia clinched the title thanks to their superior ability to handle pressure. The turning point came in the form of Lisa Sthalekar's crucial 25 runs not out, showcasing the team's resilience and fighting spirit. This marked the beginning of Australia's dominance in the tournament.

2012: Australia Defends the Crown with Sheer Grit

The 2012 edition saw Australia successfully defend their title, overcoming a spirited challenge from England in the final. Despite losing early wickets, a composed 61 from Elyse Villani and a crucial catch by Alex Blackwell secured a narrow four-run victory. Australia posted a formidable score of 142/4, displaying their batting strength. Led by Jess Jonassen's three-wicket haul, a collective bowling effort helped Australia make history by successfully defending their World Cup title in women’s T20 cricket.

2014: Australia Continues the Unbeaten Streak

The fourth team in the Women T20 World Cup Winners List is still Australia. The 2014 tournament was held in Bangladesh. It once again witnessed another dominant performance by Australia. They cruised through the tournament, dismantling England in the final by six wickets. Alyssa Healy's blistering 62 and Megan Schutt's three wickets helped them clinch their third consecutive title.

South Africa, India, and the West Indies began to pose challenges to teams like New Zealand, England, and Australia. Nevertheless, Australia made history by becoming the first country to secure a hat-trick of T20 World Cup titles across both men’s and women’s events, clinching a six-wicket win over England in the 2014 final in Mirpur.

2016: West Indies Upsets the Order

The 2016 edition, hosted by India, witnessed a historic upset. In 2016, the West Indies ended Australia’s run of consecutive title wins. Despite setting a competitive total of 148/5 in the final at Eden Gardens, the defending champions were unable to stop West Indian opener Hayley Matthews. Matthews made a blistering start to the innings. With Matthews scoring 66 off 45 balls and forming a crucial partnership of 120 runs with captain Stafanie Taylor, West Indies secured victory by eight wickets. This marked their first ICC trophy in senior women’s cricket.

2018: Australia Reclaims the Throne

After their 2016 defeat, Australia returned stronger in 2018. They faced England in the final once again, showcasing their batting prowess with a total of 184 runs. Just like in the 2014 tournament held in Bangladesh,  Australia dismissed England for 105 runs before securing victory by eight wickets in just 15.1 overs. Ellyse Perry's unbeaten 89 and Megan Schutt's three wickets sealed the deal, marking Australia's fifth World Cup title.

2020: Australia Retains Supremacy, India Steps Up

The Indian women’s cricket team, featuring standout players like Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Harmanpreet Kaur, reached their first-ever final in the 2020 edition held in Australia after their semi-final against England was washed out. India had beaten Australia in the group stages and finished atop the group. However, India faced a formidable challenge in the final at the lively MCG. In the end, Australia claimed their fifth World Cup title with an 85-run win over India. Alyssa Healy's century and Beth Mooney's 78 set the tone for a commanding victory. 

2023: Australia Makes It Six

Australia gets the eighth spot in the Women T20 World Cup Winners List. The 2023 edition in South Africa saw another chapter in Australian dominance. In the 2023 tournament, hosts South Africa and Australia reached the final after narrow semi-final victories over England and India, respectively. Despite the competitive matchups, Australia secured their second consecutive hat-trick of titles with a 19-run win in the final.

Suzie Bates of New Zealand holds the record for the most runs in the women’s T20 World Cup. She amassed 1,066 runs from 36 innings. Meanwhile, South Africa’s Shabnim Ismail led the bowling charts with 43 wickets from 32 matches.

Looking Ahead

Australia has undeniably been the most successful team in our ICC Women T20 World Cup Winners list. Moreover,  the future holds promise for new challengers. Teams like India, England, New Zealand, and South Africa are continuously improving. This narrows the gap with the Australians. The rising talent, coupled with the expanding format (to 12 teams from 2026), promises a more competitive and exciting future for the tournament.

The ICC Women's T20 World Cup has not only provided a platform for showcasing exceptional cricketing talent. It also contributed to the significant growth of women's cricket globally. The landscape of women's cricket continues to evolve. And with that, one thing remains certain: the ICC Women's T20 World Cup will continue to be a pinnacle event. It will continue to captivate audiences and inspire generations of aspiring cricketers across the globe.

Related Posts:

Discover the opportunity to learn and earn with 11ic. Don’t wait any longer — join now and experience the benefits of earning while learning on 11ic. For additional updates, predictions, and inquiries about Sports and Casino news, visit 11ic’s 24/7 customer support live chat for more details.

35 views0 comments


bottom of page