top of page

Test World Cup Winners List: 20 Teams That Stole Our Hearts!

Updated: Feb 16

test world cup winners list

When it comes to cricket, the Test World Cup is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the world. Every four years, the finest cricket teams come together to compete. All our thriving for the trophy and a place in history. Over the years, there have been a number of incredible teams to win the Test World Cup. Each has its own unique stories, moments, and legends.

In this article, we'll be taking a closer look at the Test World Cup winners list. Highlighting some of the most successful teams in the history of the tournament and their key moments of triumph.

Test World Cup Winners List

1975 - The West Indies

The West Indies won the first Test World Cup, which took place in 1975. Led by Clive Lloyd, the West Indies played a dominant and exciting brand of cricket with an unmatched combination of power, pace, and flair. Some of the key players on that team were Gordon Greenidge, Viv Richards, and Joel Garner.

In the final, the West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs in a thrilling match that showcased the best of what the Test World Cup had to offer. It was the start of a new era in cricket, and the West Indies had set the bar high.

1979 - The West Indies

In the very next Test World Cup, held in 1979, the West Indies once again took home the trophy. This time, they beat England in the final, with Clive Lloyd scoring an incredible 102 off just 85 balls.

The West Indies were not as dominant in this tournament as they were in the previous one. However, they still showed incredible skill, power, and resilience. It was clear that this was a team that was no longer content to be just the best in the world - they were now striving to be the greatest team of all time.

1983 - India

In the 1983 Test World Cup, a surprise win came from India. Even though the West Indies had previously been leading. Led by the famous Kapil Dev, the Indian team, initially thought of as underdogs by many, surprised everyone by eventually winning.

But against all odds, India fought their way to the final, where they took on the mighty West Indies. In one of the most thrilling upsets in cricket history, India beat the West Indies by 43 runs. Thanks to some incredible performances from Kapil Dev, Mohinder Amarnath, and Roger Binny.

The win was a game-changer for Indian cricket, inspiring a new generation of players and fans. This accomplishment demonstrated that you could achieve even the impossible. Considering most experts disregarded the team.

1987 - Australia

Following the surprising 1983 outcome, the Test World Cup began a new chapter featuring additional teams. It heightened competition and increased attention to international cricket. In 1987, Australia claimed the trophy. Consistently overpowering their rivals with precision and skill.

Allan Border guided the talent-filled Australian team. Such as David Boon, Dean Jones, and Craig McDermott. They effortlessly conquered each match. Maintaining an unbeaten streak and ultimately defeating England by seven runs in the final.

The win was a turning point for Australian cricket, marking the beginning of a new era of greatness for the team.

1992 - Pakistan

Another major upset occurred in the 1992 Test World Cup when Pakistan won the trophy for the first time ever. Charismatic Imran Khan led the Pakistani team. Famous for its exceptional talent and inconsistency.

Despite this, they managed to make it to the final, where they faced England in a tense and dramatic match that went down to the wire. In a nail-biting finish, Pakistan emerged victorious by 22 runs. Thanks to some incredible performances from Wasim Akram, Inzamam-ul-Haq, and Javed Miandad.

The win was a moment of triumph for Pakistani cricket, and an inspiration to a new generation of players.

1996 - Sri Lanka

The 1996 Test World Cup went down as a major milestone in cricket history when Sri Lanka unexpectedly won the tournament. Arjuna Ranatunga headed up the Sri Lankan team. Many experts initially dismissed them, believing they had little hope of succeeding.

The Sri Lankan players, however, aimed to show their critics that they were wrong. Playing an exciting, energetic style of cricket, captivating fans worldwide. In the final match against Australia, fantastic displays by Sanath Jayasuriya. Even team members like Aravinda de Silva and Chaminda Vaas enabled them to secure a seven-wicket victory.

The win was a major triumph for Sri Lankan cricket and a testament to the power of determination, skill, and teamwork.

1999 - Australia

In the 1999 Test World Cup, Australia reclaimed its position at the top of the cricket world under the leadership of Steve Waugh.

People knew the Australian team for their skill, strength, and constant desire to succeed.

Australia played against Pakistan in the final, controlling the game from the beginning to the end. Exceptional bowling by Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne. Along with powerful batting from Adam Gilchrist and Damien Martyn. This led Australia to an eight-wicket victory.

The win was a fitting tribute to a team that had become one of the greatest in the history of cricket.

2003 - Australia

In the 2003 Test World Cup, Australia, under the guidance of the famous Ricky Ponting, continued to rule by winning the trophy twice in succession. The Australian team, with top players such as Matthew Hayden, Brett Lee, and Shane Warne, proved to be a powerful team.

Australia played against India in the final, achieving a lead of 125 runs. This marked their victory. An example of a splendid performance by the Australian team. Clearly demonstrating they were the toughest competitor in international cricket.

2007 - Australia

The 2007 Test World Cup saw Australia win the trophy for the third time in a row. An incredible achievement that cemented their place in cricket history. Ricky Ponting took the lead of the team again. Which included some of the best players of their time, like Adam Gilchrist, Glenn McGrath, and Matthew Hayden.

Australia swept through the tournament, never losing a single game, and beating Sri Lanka in the final by 53 runs. It was a fitting end to a remarkable run of dominance for the Australian team.

2011 - India

In the 2011 Test World Cup, India won the trophy for the second time in their history, playing outstanding cricket. MS Dhoni led the team, which featured some of the greatest players ever, like Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, and Yuvraj Singh.

In the final, India faced Sri Lanka in a tense and dramatic match that went down to the wire. Thanks to some incredible performances from Gautam Gambhir and MS Dhoni, India won by six wickets, to the delight of fans around the world.

2015 - Australia

Finally, the 2015 Test World Cup saw Australia once again emerge triumphant, as they won the trophy for the fifth time in their history. Led by Michael Clarke, the Australian team was a fierce and intimidating outfit. With players like David Warner, Mitchell Johnson, and Steve Smith at the peak of their powers.

In the final, they faced New Zealand in a match that saw them win by seven wickets. It was another dominant performance from the Australian team. Indeed a clear indication that they were still one of the best cricket teams in the world.


The Test World Cup has seen some incredible teams over the years, each with their own unique stories of triumph and glory. From the West Indies in the 70s to Australia in the 2000s, the history of the tournament is a testament to the power of determination, teamwork, and skill.

If you enjoy cricket or love sports' charm, you shouldn't miss the Test World Cup. You can watch the top teams compete for the trophy, making history. You can also share in the drama, thrill, and love that make cricket one of the best-ever sports.

Related Posts:

13 views0 comments


bottom of page